Silent Summary

image

I’ve been getting into silent films lately. I decided to sit through The Birth of a Nation to start with. Would not recommend. It’s three hours long and not very exciting. Of course, it’s also racist. They use white people to play black characters which confused the heck out of me. You have to remind yourself that that obviously white guy is playing a black political leader. Sigh…

image

Next up was The Sheik which I also didn’t love but it was ok. It seems a lot more commercial than other films I’ve watched from the 20s and 30s but now I understand why girls wept at the death of Rudolph Valentino. What a handsome fellow! I would say he’s the best reason to watch the film. I watched the sequel The Son of the Sheik which was much the same.

image

A film that I did love was Flesh and the Devil. Here comes my Garbo crush again. She was captivating in this film, divine! Just watch this scene…It makes me want to get a matchstick tattoed on my body (Ok maybe not. Maybe just a tiny portrait of Greta Garbo ;-) )

image

Another great film that I watched was 7th Heaven. It’s a lovely romantic film set in France at the time of the First World War.

Leave a comment below :)

