Henna: Part II

The deets

Natural hair colour: dark blonde/light brown

image

Henna used: Caca Rouge from Lush
Hair length: bra strap length
Number of squares used: 4 of the 6
Time left on head: 4 .5 hours
Extra info: I shampooed my hair the morning before dyeing it but did not condition it. (Not sure if that makes a difference but it’s a possible variable.)

My method was as such: get in the shower, pat mud on head, have bf shower away the mud that falls on skin or the floor while I transformed myself into a swamp monster. That’s the huge downside to this compared to normal dye, it doesn’t come in a bottle with a precision nozzle so you have to throw it on. You also have to guess the right consistency which is not easy. Too thick and it doesn’t spread, too thin and you can’t pick it up with your fingers.

When you’re done putting it on you have to cover your head in clingfilm and leave it on for four hours (or more if you wish). Although Lush kindly supplies a pair of gloves to keep your hands stain free, unfortunately the stuff will drip out of your clingfilmed head anyway and leave you with an orange neck.

Rinsing took quite a while. The dye came out quite quickly but I was left with ‘bits’ in my hair as if I’d been to the beach and got covered in sand. I added a bit of conditioner and kept scrubbing to help the process along and eventually it all came out but my hair still felt sticky from the cocoa butter in the Caca Rouge.

The morning after

Eww, my hair looked and felt so greasy from the cocoa butter. I had to wash it again and did so with shampoo and conditioner which didn’t cause any dye to wash out, yay! Afterwards it was clean, sparkling and glowing in its full ginger glory! I love it xD

You wanna see? (Even though the ends aren’t dry yet. I couldn’t wait to take pics!)

Drumroll please………….

Ta da!

lush caca rougelush caca rouge

Leave a comment below :)

