Amsterdam through the decades & miscellaneous items

  1. Since I live near Amsterdam I was curious to see what the city looked like in times gone by. Here’s a video from around 1920. I love seeing places I recognise being walked on by people from my great-grandparent’s era.
  2. Speaking of Dutch matters. I love the singer Caro Emerald. Her music and style has a retro feel.
  3. I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s going to be impossible to sew anything with pattern pieces bigger than A4/A3 size which limits things to accessories and small blouses like I’m working on now. I have to sit down all the time so I rely on a tray to cut and measure stuff. I should have known really but I was having fun dreaming of pinafore dresses and huge circle skirts. It’s always nice to think you can do anything you want and it sucks when it’s so far from the truth. All the sitting down is making me feel like grumpy cat.
  4. image

    Which is why I’m grateful to live in the era of the internet so I can look at pictures of Katharine Hepburn being nudged by a leopard and feel better.

    image
    Purritos seem to help too.

    image

One thought on “Amsterdam through the decades & miscellaneous items

  1. I have a small collection of turn of the century post cards picturing scenes from Amsterdam. It looks like such a magical city! I hope to get there some day.

Leave a comment below :)

