First Vintage Sewing Project

Simplicity 2522

I bought a vintage pattern! I like to sew things and have some experience in making small items and adjusting clothing but I’ve never made an actual piece of clothing. I’m currently housebound because of a stubborn knee injury so it’s the perfect time to learn how to make my own clothes. As you can see I’ve gone for something that looks relatively easy and could fit in with a modern wardrobe. I also made sure to pick something I could wear right now (no dresses or skirts until the hot weather arrives I’m afraid because I can’t wear tights) so I can have the satisfaction of wearing it when I’m done. I’ll probably start off with view 1 or 3 since they’re sleeveless and I don’t want to end up with an arm in the wrong place :D. Ideally I’d like it to be an ‘authentic’ colour/pattern for the late 1950s. I suppose I should just look at other patterns for colour inspiration. I’m excited to start my first vintage sewing project!

Leave a comment below :)

